‘s Finalists for the Sony Alpha D-SLR Photography Competition!

Sony has announced the fifteen finalists for their annual Alpha D-SLR Photography competition,which aims to give up-and-coming photographers the chance to showcase their talents at Air New Zealand Fashion Week.
The competition invited entries from people studying photography at tertiary level plus those intending to next year and offers the fifteen finalists a window of opportunity to take photos in a professional environment.
Almost 100 entries were submitted from across the country, and fifteen were chosen to compete at Fashion Week.

“The competition generated a lot of interest this year and choosing the finalists was a difficult task,” said Sam Williams, Sony Marketing Manager for Digital Imaging Products. “We are confident the group we have chosen will produce some outstanding work at Fashion Week.”

The photographers will have the chance to showcase their talent with a Sony Alpha A380Y twin lens photography kit. Each finalist will be given an all access pass to Fashion Week from 22 to 25 September and will be required to submit two shots at the end of each day, one catwalk image and one ambient image, with a total of eight shots over Fashion Week making up their entry.

Each day’s entries will be uploaded to the Sony Alpha Digital Display in the holding pen outside Shed One, allowing guests the chance to view photographs taken by the contestants. The display will include a Sony BRAVIA LCD and 15 brand new exclusive Sony photo frames.

Photos will be judged at the end of the week and the winning entrant will be awarded a Sony Alpha camera package worth over $2,500 and a scholarship for tertiary fees up to $3,000 for a course relating to fine arts, design or photography in 2010.

This year’s fifteen finalists are Heather Liddell (Onehunga, Unitec), Tamara Mapper (Central Auckland, Raffles College), Chrissy Kouwenhoven (Nelson, Waimea College), Ariki Tane (Invercargill, James Hargest College), Corinne Tan (Howick, Macleans College), Lawrence Tan (Central Auckland, Raffles College), Lisa Gladkova (Birkenhead, AUT), Marcelle Te Huia (Cambridge, Waikato Institute of Technology), Nikita Kearsley (Parnell, Epsom Girls Grammar), Rachel Lawson(Newmarket, Diocesan School for Girls), Russell Neill (Maraetai, Whitecliffe College), Sam van der Kolk (Onehunga, Raffles College), Ashlee Lala (Auckland, Diocesan School for Girls), Esther Leonard (Auckland, Avondale College) and Yasmin Singh (Mt Eden, Mt Albert Grammar).


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s